Skip Navigation

 Medical University | MUSC HospitalDirectory | A-Z Index

Alumni Affairs


Alumni Affairs

James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine
Alumni Awards & Recognitions

2015 Alumni Awards

Now accepting nominations for:

  • Alumni Award of Honor
  • Distinguished Alumni Service Award
  • Honorary Alumnus Award

Award Criteria and Nomination Form

Deadline: October 15, 2014

Distinguished Alumni Service Award Criteria

This award is presented to a degree or residency alumnus of the College of Dental Medicine who has given selflessly through extraordinary actions that benefit the college, their community, or the profession of dentistry during the past year.

These actions should reflect a member's contribution in terms of time and/or expertise. They should be ongoing and reflect a commitment to service for a period of not less then 2 years. The actions should serve to benefit a deserving population and as an inspiration to others. Previous recipients are not eligible.

2014 Alumni Award of Honor Recipient

William Eugene Atkinson II, BS, DMD, FAGD, MAGD

William Eugene Atkinson

William Eugene Atkinson II

Dr. William “Gene” Atkinson graduated from the University of South Carolina in 1969 and in 1973 he earned his DMD from MUSC.  In 1974 Dr. Atkinson joined the USAF Dental Corps where he received certification in periodontics and intravenous sedation.

Dr. Atkinson has been in private practice in Orangeburg since 1976.  In addition to serving the area’s dental needs Dr. Atkinson has given back to his community as a volunteer consistently for the past 30 years. He is an active member of the Kiwanis Club where he has served as the vice-president and president and has chaired the Youth Services Committee since 1990. Dr. Atkinson is very involved in the beautification of Orangeburg through the Keep America Beautiful program. As if that were not enough, he also serves on the Board of Directors for the Orangeburg  County Historical Society  and is a member of the Orangeburg County Fine Arts Center, Chamber of Commerce, South Caroliniana Library Society, Downtown Orangeburg Revitalization Assoc. and South Carolina History and Archives. 

Dr. Atkinson’s time and dedication to his community has not gone unnoticed. He has received a number of awards from the various organizations with which he is involved. The most notable are the Orangeburg’s Citizen of the Year award in 2004 and the Order of the Palmetto in 2010.  

Dr. Atkinson’s service does not stop in Orangeburg.  He is also an advocate of dental healthcare for SC. He established the SCDA’s award winning program for National Children’s Dental Health Month that has won numerous awards as the nation’s best statewide program since 1993. In 1998 Dr. Atkinson received the Distinguished Service Award for the entire US from the American Society of Dentistry for Children for this program. From 1987-1995 Dr. Atkinson designed and established a mastership participation course program for the AGD at MUSC that has been acknowledged as one of the leading programs of its type in the nation. He also served as the president of the MUSC College of Dental Medicine Alumni Association from 1990-1991.

It is evident that Dr. Atkinson is a man with a passion for history. He has authored over a dozen articles and books on the topic with various subjects. 

Lastly, Dr. Atkinson is a man devoted to his family and church. He has served on various boards and committees and serves as the church photographer. He is married to Colleen and has three daughters; Elizabeth, Dorothy, and Kathleen.

2014 Distinguished Alumni Services Award Recipient

Jeffrey B. Bayme, DMD

Jeffrey B. Bayme
Jeffrey B. Bayme

Each year the Dental Medicine Alumni Association awards the Distinguished Alumni Service Award to an alumnus of the College of Dental Medicine who has given selflessly through extraordinary actions that benefit the college, their community, or the profession of dentistry. This year’s recipient is Dr. Jeffery B. Bayme. 

Dr. Bayme graduated from UGA in 1977 and the College of Dental Medicine in 1984. He completed his GPR at Richland Memorial Hospital in 1985.

Since becoming a dentist Jeff has been an active member of the ADA, SCDA, AACD, AADPA, Southeastern Academy of Prosthodontics, the Coastal District Dental Society and The Charleston Dental Society. He has also been listed multiple times as “Best Dentist in America”.

Dr. Bayme has been tireless in the giving of his time and talents to the college in a number of ways. He has held a teaching position every Friday at the College since 1985, served as a class agent for his class, and served as the president of the dental alumni association from 2011-2013. During his time in office Dr. Bayme very successfully lead a campaign to increase alumni lifetime membership in the association by 40 memberships.

Past Award Recipients

Alumni Award of Honor:
2014     Dr. W. Eugene Atkinson '73
2012     Dr. James A. Rivers '74

2011     Dr. David F. Watson ‘74
2008     Dr. W. Franklin Caughman ’79
2007     Maj. General Joseph Webb ‘71

Distinguished Alumni Service Award:
2014     Dr. Jeffrey B. Bayme '84
2013     Dr. Douglas S. Rawls '73
2012     Dr. Larry Ferguson '79
2012     Dr. Robert B. O'Neal '71
2011     Dr. Rocky L. Napier ‘87
2011     Dr. Julian H. (Hal) Fair ‘78
2010     Dr. William C. Sasser ’73
2008     Dr. James A. Rivers, ’74
2008     Dr. W. Daniel Sneed, ’73
2007     Dr. D. Edward Collins, ‘73
2007     Dr. David F. Watson, Jr., ‘74

Honorary Alumnus Award:
2010     Mrs. Elizabeth P. Waters
2003     Dr. Cotesworth (Coty) P. Fishburne
2008     Dr. J. Daulton Keith
2007     Mr. J. Harold (Hal) Zorn
2006     Dr. Edward L. (Ted) Welsh
2004     Dr. Richard DeChamplain
2001     Dr. Arthur L. Haisten
1999     Ms. Elizabeth A. (Betty) Ochoa
1998     Dr. Fitzhugh N. Hamrick

Join the Alumni Association

Join MUSC ALumni on Facebook

Keep Us Updated

E-mail Forwarding for Life